Spam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities
Launch Viewer to Begin
Topics
Resources:
PDFSpam Law presentation by Mark Blumberg October 28, 2013.pdf
WMVSpam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities
MP3Spam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities
Date and Time

Monday October 28th 
2:30-3:30 Newfoundland & Labrador
2:00 – 3:00 p.m.  Atlantic
1:00 – 2:00 p.m. Eastern
12:00 – 1:00 p.m.  Central
11:00 – 12:00 noon Mountain
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.  Pacific 

Estimated Length1 hour

Registration Fee: Free

AFP Foundation for Philanthropy – Canada and Mackenzie Investments have partnered to strengthen training and education for charities and professional fundraisers.

One of the goals of the partnership is to assist fundraisers and nonprofit leaders in innovating, competing more strategically, and rethinking best practices by providing opportunities to learn from respected fundraisers, develop key professional skills and share experiences with colleagues. 

Thanks to an initiative funded by Mackenzie Investments, one of Canada’s leading investment management firms, they are helping champion education by funding a new Canadian Web Conference series for AFP’s 16 chapters across the country. The series will foster dialogue and increase awareness of the complexity of issues facing fundraising and the sector, provide tools to deal with sector issues and create stronger advocates for the profession and the sector. 

Spam Law - Recent Legislation and its Impact on Canadian Fundraisers and Charities 

Although not yet proclaimed, Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation ("CASL") is expected to come into force sometime in 2014. The Act will apply to both for-profit and not-for-profit organizations. CASL will regulate commercial activities conducted through electronic means and will prohibit spam, hacking, malware, fraud, invasion of privacy and address harvesting. Of particular relevance to Canadian fundraisers and charities are CASL's provisions governing spam. They will impose certain requirements on all fundraisers and charities that send commercial electronic messages ("CEMs"). Specifically, consent from the recipients will be required and the CEM’s must meet the prescribed information and form requirements and provide an unsubscribe mechanism. The focus of this presentation will be CASL’s impact on Canadian fundraisers and charities. It will cover the following areas:
  • CASL Overview
  • CEM requirements
  • Implications for Canadian fundraisers and charities
  • How to prepare for CASL


The webinar will be presented by:

Mark Blumberg
Mark is a partner at the law firm of Blumberg Segal LLP in Toronto and works almost exclusively in the area of Canadian non-profit and charity law.  Mark has a B.A. in Political Science from the University of Toronto, an LLB from the University of British Columbia and a LLM from Osgoode Hall Law School in Tax Law.  Mark is on the Executive of the Canadian Bar Association National Charities and Not-for-Profit Law Section and is also on the Executive of the Ontario Bar Association Charity and Non-profit law section.  Mark is also the editor of www.canadiancharitylaw.ca and www.globalphilanthropy.ca.

Program Information
Program Date:
October 28, 2013